Skip to content

Where to apply

Where to apply for a Schengen visa

The Embassy has commissioned VFS Global Services to operate the Danish and Icelandic visa applications in Saudi Arabia (Riyadh, Jeddah and Khobar) and Bahrain (Manama) from their visa application centres.

Saudi, Bahraini and non-Saudi/non-Bahraini residents applying for short-term tourist, business or transit Schengen visas for Denmark, Iceland, Greenland & Faroe Island can submit their applications at the VFS centres with prior appointment provided the applicant is legally staying in the country of application.

All applicants are advised to book an appointment online to submit their visa application at one of the VFS centres.

Please consult the following website for more information: 

From which Schengen country should my visa be applied

You must apply for a visa from the country of your main destination, that is, the Schengen country where you will spend most days. If you spend an equal amount of time in two or more countries, you must apply for a visa to the country of your first entrance into the Schengen area.

For example: If you plan to have four days of meetings in Denmark followed by two days of meetings in Sweden, you should apply for Denmark at one of the VFS centres. If you are staying four days in Denmark followed by four days in Sweden, you should still apply for Denmark at the VFS centres, since Denmark is the first destination in your visit to the Schengen countries. If you spend two days in Denmark and four days in Sweden, however, you must apply for a visa at a Swedish representation.

It must be underlined that deviations from these rules are illegal and will not be tolerated.

Visa for Iceland

The Danish Embassy represents Iceland worldwide for visas. Visa applications for Iceland can be submitted at the same VFS centres in Saudi Arabia and Bahrain.  Please note that Iceland is a full member of the Schengen cooperation, just like Denmark, Germany, France etc.

Visa for Greenland and The Faroe Islands

Visa applications to Greenland and Faroe Islands should be submitted to the VFS Visa Application Centres. Please note that the Faroe Islands and Greenland are not part of the Schengen cooperation. Other Embassies in the Schengen cooperation cannot grant you a visa for Greenland or The Faroe Islands. As you are leaving the Schengen area by visiting either Greenland or the Faroe Islands, please make sure to apply for double entry.

Information about nationals who are subject to prior consultation

For information about nationals who are subject to prior consultation please 
click here
and go to 'Annex 16'.